distraction v2.0

I started a post a few days ago about distraction.  Ironically, I got a bit distracted while writing it.

At the time I was drafting my distraction v1.0 post, I was feeling a bit scatterbrained.  The day was filled with unexpected twists and turns, and it seemed that my focus was always being interrupted by some internal or external force.  Ever have one of those days?  Thankfully, my fleeting tendencies were convicted the following morning in my office’s weekly devotion time. 

(Sidenote: what a blessing and privilege it is to work in a place where we can engage in such activities together.)

Back to the distractions.  A coworker of mine shared of the story of Fanny J. Crosby, author of many hymns, including “Blessed Assurance”.  While Fanny’s story is quite remarkable, a seemingly tiny element of her story overwhelmed me with a sense of conviction.  It wasn’t Fanny’s courageous pursuit of living life to the fullest despite her inability to see that was most striking.  Instead, it was her perspective which resulted from her blindness.  When questioned regarding her predicament, Fanny replied:

It seemed intended by the blessed providence of God that I should be blind all my life, and I thank him for the dispensation.  If perfect earthly sight were offered me tomorrow I would not accept it.  I might not have sung hymns to the praise of God if I had been distracted by the beautiful and interesting things around me.

Her attention would be taken from the One who captivated her.  Her focus upon His beauty would be compromised as she responded to the perpetual stimuli surrounding her.  She would be distracted. 

I hear ya, sister.  I’m exhibit a.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

