it’s amazing.

It’s amazing for me to think of how much has changed in my life in the past year.  My address has changed.  The provider of my paycheck has changed.  I’m a full-fledged grad student.  The people with whom I regularly interact and engage with have changed.  My hair is different.  I think I’m even a notch taller (note to my body: I wouldn’t mind staying right where I am, k?).  There’s a lot more, but you get the idea.

I’ve been digesting this year of transition a bit…reflecting on all of the changes that have comprised the past 14 months since I graduated from good ol’ Grove City.  It’s a lot.  The last four months brought the latest wave of change as I transitioned to my current job/town/etc.  This last wave was different – in a good way.  I had no idea what to expect.  Absolutely no idea.  I didn’t know what I was getting myself into.  I didn’t have expectations, or even the faintest inkling of what was ahead.  Uncertainty can be fearful, but instead I felt a strong sense of peace about the whole situation.  It felt right.  It felt good.  It felt different.  I was ready for change.

Those who know me well know of my optimistic tendencies.  I can stretch optimism so far that it becomes a fault.  Often I face new adventures with expectations of brilliance and grandeur, which typically lead to frustrating circumstances.  As I prepared to leave Grove City, the thought that I had no idea what I was getting myself into was refreshing.  I didn’t have expectations.  Instead, I prepared myself to be open to the new opportunities I would encounter.  I prepared myself to go.  And that’s it, that’s all I could do.  Like Abraham, “when called to go to a place…he obeyed and went, even though he did not know where he was going”, I went even though I didn’t really know what I was in for.  I’ve always loved that verse (and that chapter…and that book…).

I feel affirmed in my decision.  It still feels right.  What a sense of peace it is to know that this is where God has lead me to be.  I’m so thankful that my path has led me here.

It’s amazing to be cared for, to feel loved, to not only show compassion, but to also receive it.  I have some beautiful flowers adorning my desk, reminding me of the sweetness and joy that comes from such reciprocated sentiments.  Another unexpected and unanticipated twist to my story.  But that makes it all the sweeter.

It’s amazing to consider the many ways in which I have been provided for, in the ways I have been blessed beyond my deserving.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

