don’t want to lose my marble.

Last night was fantastic.  Reviving an old tradition, my beloved cohort went out in force to our spot – the blue marble in the booming metropolis of New Brighton.  Complete with a shuffleboard table, a jukebox that never seems to have all of the songs we want to hear and a psychedelic bathroom, the marble has become our post-class watering hole.

It had been months since many of us had spent time outside of class together. We were long overdue.  Our lives have all changed so much within the past six months since our summer institute days…and sadly, we’ve missed out on a lot with each other.  Even though we spend hours each week together in the classroom, we don’t get to catch up as much as we would like to.  Hence the need for our w(h)ine & whatever time.

I haven’t laughed as much as I did last night in a long time.  A really long time.  I stayed up way past my bedtime.  I sang and danced to our standard jukebox plays.  I felt home with the people that came into my life last fall (and some new ones this fall).  I’ve realized that it’s not the amount of time spent with people that is important, but how the precious time you are able to share is a gift, no matter how frequent.  I drove home and climbed into bed thankful for these friends and the joy they brought to the end of my day.

Here’s to getting better in time.  And here’s to the nights we felt alive.  I needed that, kids.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “don’t want to lose my marble.

  1. martiaiken

    Amen to getting ‘better in time’…

    and can i just say how excited i am that the marble tradition has been revived? i remember the first Tuesday when i led everyone to the marble, telling them just how cool it’d be.

    2 years later, the shuffle board is still kickin’ it.

    i was so glad to be there lastnight ‘with youuu, with youuu, with youuu, with youu, with youuu’

    🙂

Leave a Reply

