urgency.

It’s the most wonderful (and chaotic!) time of the year.  A lot has happened since I’ve last posted.  A friend got married.  I spent some time in D.C.  where I wore scrubs (with stilettos  – the new trend, for sure) as I toured a hospital for work.  Scrubs are fantastically comfortable…I wish that could be my work uniform!  I participated in the baking, decorating and consuming of a ridiculous amount of Christmas cookies.  I finished my penultimate semester of grad school.  It’s been hectic.  The time has passed quickly.

As I was navigating my way through the crowded aisles of a store earlier this week, I could feel the sense of urgency as people rushed to complete their shopping done in preparation for Christmastime.  Carts were stacked high with special gifts and treats, children seemed exceptionally giddy, and strangers offered greetings and grace in a manner that surfaces at this time of year. 

It is a season of anticipation and expectation.  I love that about this time of year.  We celebrate the birth of a King whose gift has granted us life to the fullest.  Many eagerly watch for snowflakes to fall and blanket the ground, transforming it into a scintillating wonderland.  We agonize over finding the perfect gift for loved ones as a token of our affections.  Children go to bed anxiously on Christmas Eve and wake up (much earlier than normal!) to see if Saint Nicholas left his mark.  We’re all waiting for something….whether it be a reunion with family and friends, the receipt or delivery of a perfect gift, special meals, or some time off of work. 

As much as I enjoy looking forward, I’ve been trying to keep myself grounded in the current day.  So much of my life has been focused upon what was ahead – the succession of high school to college to work/more school keeps one mindful of their future, not always the present.  That will be changing soon.  I am reaching the point where my life is not measured by what is next.  Sure, there will be other changes and turning points, but I think it is safe to say that I have fully transitioned into adulthood.  I am in a place where many would consider that I have “made it”.  Many have started asking what I will be doing after I graduate this May.  Oh, the possibilities.  I can stay here in western PA or I could go.  There isn’t a clear cut answer like there had been before.  For now, my life is here.  Amidst the anticipation of both the Christmas season and this season of my life, I find myself waiting, often patiently, yet sometimes a bit more frantically.  Just one step at a time.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “urgency.

  1. kristen –
    so i found your blog through hilary’s, and love your thoughts on transitioning into adulthood by not wondering what comes next. isn’t it a strange feeling?
    it was always so easy to plot out your life based on high school, college, grad school, etc. and not having those benchmarks can be really stressful, but kind of cool too!
    merry christmas!
    erin

  2. Good thoughts — and truths — here. Thanks for the insight!

    Can’t wait to see you.

Leave a Reply

