ennui.

ennui.  A true Gilmore Girls fan would recognize this word.  The rest of the world probably thinks I had my fingers on the wrong keys as I typed…or that I have an impressive and mysterious vocabulary.  For the Gilmore Girls at heart, you might remember the episode in which Michel infects Sookie with a sense of ennui, a French word meaning dissatisfaction, weariness, listlessness, or boredom.  (What’s the opposite of ennui? Off-ui!)

I can feel myself getting infected with ennui.  My immune system is breaking down.  While I recognize the multitude of ways in which I am profoundly blessed, I am left with a sense of restlessness.  Again I feel my 8 to 5 life affecting the hours spent away from the office.  I don’t like it one bit.  And I’m trying to resist.  But it seems like one can only fight it for so  long.  There is a bit of comfort knowing that I am not the only one experiencing some the symptoms of ennui.  But that doesn’t mean that it should be accepted or ignored.

I don’t know what the remedy for ennui will be.  My ability to be patient is most often valuable, until patience morphs into simply holding on for too long.  Laughter helps, and a good hug does too.  We press on, we hope and pray for a better day.  We say, “Ennui, get off me!”

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “ennui.

  1. Kristen (Formerly known as K2)

    Oh Gilmore Girls…I just found that they are on the SoapOpera network at night!!! AMAZING!

    How are you friend?!!?! I hope life is treating you well! We should catch up sometime! Has your number changed? Mine has, so we should connect!
    Miss your face!
    Kristen

Leave a Reply

