the incredible shrinking girl.

Perhaps you are sensing a theme.  My life seems to be intertwined with the events and characters of my beloved show, Gilmore Girls.  Today’s episode connection: “The Incredible Shrinking Lorelais”.  Lorelai is exhausted.  She’s running herself ragged trying to keep all of the plates spinning, yet it feels like they are all about to crash down around her at once.  Luke, of course, is the lucky one who gets to hear about her day.

I like my life.  I like my friends.  I like my stuff.  My time, my space, my TV.  But every now and then, just for a moment, I wish I had a partner, someone to pick up the slack.  Someone to wait for the cable guy, make me coffee in the morning, meet the stupid sink before it gets sent back to Canada.  I just thought I had everything under control, but I didn’t…I just spend every minute running around and working and thinking.  And I thought I would have help…I can’t do it all by myself.

Today I’m wishing I had someone to pick up a little bit of the slack.  Someone to open the door for my handyman heroes.  As I left my apartment this morning (for the second time, after having to return from work to let in my handy helpers because my landlord didn’t have a key….good thing I’ve never locked myself out.), two men discussed how my kitchen needed ripped apart in order to fix a leak whose source was yet to be determined.  Cupboards would have to come out.  Maybe a wall or two.  Maybe the shower.  Great.  I’m scared to go home.  Indoor plumbing is quite the luxury.  And often overlooked.  

I just want a hug.  And some pizza.  I’ve got quite the hankering for pepperoni after being teased with the aroma of freshly baked pizza during my walk at lunch.  The spinach salad/yogurt/granola lunch routine just isn’t cutting it today.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

