live strong.

You were given this life because you were strong enough to live it.

Hindsight is a beautiful thing.  The passing of time and distance away from certain events or moments allows us to see things more clearly, to understand the inner-connectedness of our circumstances and personal elections that have all played a role in bringing us to where we stand today.

I’ve been encouraged throughout these past few days that I am being aptly prepared for what lies ahead.  Whether evidenced by a conversation, a book or a thought, the intricate details are aligning, pointing me toward the unknown horizon.  I have the feeling that I am in the midst of an experience that I will look back upon with hindsight and recognize the changes that have occurred in me, the choices that were made, and the consequences that evolved subsequent to these choices.

I sent off my pilot today, bidding him adieu as he prepared for a 4-day trip to Florida with his boss and some clients.  This is a week when the life of a pilot looks good.  Fly some passengers to a beautiful place, hang out for a few days  while they do their thing, and then fly them home.  I could handle this.  As I sent him off today, I realized that I might have to get used to this ritual, and the feelings that accompany it, if I desire to keep his company.  As Ben contemplates options for his future, it seems inevitable that the length of his absence and the distance of his travel will increase, at least for awhile. 

At times, this realization excites me.  And it terrifies me.  I stand in the midst of the unknown, a land of speculation and wonder.  “So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen.  For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.”  My vision may be blurred and blinded, my perspective only includes what I know to be familiar and true.  I’m praying to walk with grace my feet and faith my eyes, to trust that my weakness will be overcome by the One who sees beyond the limits of my capacity, Whose power is made perfect in weakness.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

