shipping off to boston.

I used to refer to Boston as the city that stole my brother away from me.  Since my beloved brother has taken residency in Massachusetts, I have come to love the area.  I’ve just returned from a trip to Beantown.  I think it might have been my best yet.  I enjoyed spending time with my brother and his wife, and also properly introducing Ben to my protective big brother.

Our trip started Thursday evening, with a fantastic (and enormous) dinner in Worchester, where the Massachusetts Ortendahls now call home.  We talked, reminisced, and shared great joys with each other.  Friday was a fun-filled day in the city, starting with a tour at the original Samuel Adams brewing facility.  Our guide was hysterical, and clearly enjoyed his job.  The ratio between the tour and the tasting session seemed a bit off (in favor of tasting…not necessarily a bad thing!).  We had a blast.  And we even learned a few things.

barrel of hops.

barrel of hops.

me and my tasting glass keepsake filled with some boston lager.  classic.

me and my tasting glass keepsake filled with some boston lager. classic.

The rest of our day was spent wandering around the city, introducing Ben to all that is to be enjoyed in the city of Paul Revere.  We spent Saturday relaxing…the rain gave us an excuse to sleep in, play Wii, order Chinese and watch a movie, and have a day of fun inside.  Sunday (today) was a sad day…the goodbye day.  Melissa had to leave us early, but Dave took Ben and I for one last romp in the city.  We walked through Boston Common and the Public Garden, taking in the beauty of a gorgeous New England autumn day.

me trying to get ben to actually smile for a picture.

me trying to get ben to actually smile for a picture.

brother!  he's such a stud.

brother! he's such a stud.

We took a whirlwind tour of the U.S.S. Constitution/”Old Ironsides” before heading to the airport.  I cried as my brother drove away.  I miss him so.  The few days we were able to spend together were so wonderful.  I’m so glad I was able to share the time not only with him, but also with the sister I never had and the boy who has my heart.

a potentially foreshadowing photo.

hmmm...

Can’t wait to ship off to Boston again.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

