hermit tendencies.

My life is enriched and enlightened by music.  The many compilation discs I have created over the years serve as a sort of historical preservation of my past, with titles and tracks that signify the milestones and emotions of a particular era.  Some are upbeat and a bit quirky, attesting to my varied taste; others are somber, darker, more contemplative.  Many of these discs are filled with songs that resonate with me, expressing what I struggle to articulate in a coherent fashion.  A handful of my friends are on my “hit list” – when I make a new cd, I send them a copy.  I’m long overdue to fulfill this tradition – please forgive me. 

I’m currently listening to John Mayer’s new album, Battle Studies – to hit stores tomorrow (11.17.09).  Thanks, Rhapsody, for streaming the album.  As always, JM is one of those songwriters whose words resonate with me.  Apparently I’m not the only one – I came across this article about JM and his upcoming album – and absolutely loved this line: “I may as well admit that I’m a sucker for just about anything he’s ever committed to tape.”  I’m with you, Tim.  Guilty as charged.

There’s comfort in music.  I know I’m not alone in having specific artists and albums I turn to that coincide with my mood.  Life has been a bit heavy lately.  I’ve been thinking through some things that have transcendant consequences.  It’s been good, just heavy.  I’m hoping that makes sense…I don’t know how else to put it.  I consider myself so very fortunate to have had conversations with a precious few who are my “sounding boards”, always ready to ask me the right questions, offer insight and advice, and provide support and encouragement.  Their presence has been simply enough to uplift me and remind me I’m not alone; I could sense my hermit tendencies creeping in, yet acknowledging and resisting them has proved to benefit me.  After twenty-four years, maybe I’m learning that bottling up emotion and thought isn’t always the best way to go.

This morning on the way to work, a cd was on cue to play “These are Days” by the 10,000 Maniacs, followed by “Don’t Stop Believing” by Journey and “More Than a Feeling” by Boston.  I think these were good for me to hear today as I started a new week.  I’m truly “blessed and lucky”, I’m “working hard to get my fill, everybody wants a thrill”, and I can lose “myself in a familiar song”. 

Rock on, kids.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

