grazie.

It’s getting to be that time of year when we’re reminded to do what we should be doing everyday: be thankful.  One of my favorite memories as a Young Life leader in college was the Slippery Rock tradition of having our Thanksgiving-themed night – we’d talk about thankfulness and everyone there, both leaders and high school students, would write down 40 things that they were thankful for.  It was always quite powerful for me to compose this list and listen as we shared the many ways that our lives had been blessed in the past year.  As we approach Thanksgiving 2009, here’s my list, in no particular order, of what I’m thankful for in my life.

weekend getaways.  my big brother.  cooking for company.  moments when life seems to make sense.  trader joe’s  raw almonds.  afternoons at the winery.  saturday mornings in the strip district.  fresh-cut flowers.  getting lost in a literary masterpiece.  benefitting from the sacrifice of a stranger.  my jetta.  farmer’s markets.  curling up on the couch with a cup of tea.  the aroma of yankee candles.  yoga.  mint chocolate m&ms.  resilience.  beautiful, wonderful friends and family.  sincerity.  shuffling through fallen leaves in autumn.  hindsight.  tough love.  utilizing my abilities in a way that will help someone.  sweet, sweet grace.  witnessing a life being transformed.  friendships that withstand distance and time apart.  walking along the ocean’s edge.  waking up feeling refreshed and rejuvenated.  sundays with ben – especially the ones during football season.  synergy.  my “office moms”.  exploring pittsburgh.  hand-written letters.  strength for today, bright hope for tomorrow.  laughter.  candid photos.  cowboy boots.  iTunes genius mixes.  walking through my quaint little town.  to be loved and accepted.  feeling the warmth of sunshine on my skin.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “grazie.

  1. This is so encouraging Kristen… you’ve inspired me to make a list of things I’m thankful for as well. Even with Thanksgiving over for the year, it’s never too late to make a list of our blessings. Thanks for being you!

Leave a Reply

