a beautiful mind.

Want to know what I’m thinking about?  Okay.  I’ll tell you.

February is almost over – March is less than two weeks away!  I know that really doesn’t mean much since February is only 4 weeks long…but still.  The month that holds the wonderful holidays of Pi Day and St. Patrick’s day is upon us.  Ben will begin his stint at OCS; the half-marathon will be two months away (eek!); and theoretically/hopefully the temperatures will begin to climb above freezing for awhile.

I love snow.  I’d love it even more if I didn’t feel I was risking my life every time I had to get in my car to navigate the roads that wind through the lovely hills and vales of Beaver County.

I wish my neighbors would pitch in with shoveling our common driveway and parking lot.  I’ve been really tempted to stack all the snow behind their cars.  Each inch of snow has been lovingly shoveled by yours truly.  I almost knocked on their doors last night to ask them to help instead of watching t.v.   Alas, I kept shoveling, alone – and feeling totally taken advantage of.  Grrrr.

The combination of shoveling and my half-marathon training has been getting me back in shape.  It feels good (most of the time).  Apparently I’m proof that all you need to do to convince someone to exercise is buy them new shoes and fancy Under Armour (and sign up for a half-marathon without even knowing if you have the ability to run a mile without collapsing).  It helps to have a goal in mind – and the exercise has been wonderful stress-relief!

“Oy with the poodles already.”  A fantastic Gilmore-ism.  And my sentiment toward my job (replace the word “poodles” with “job”).  Oy.  That’s about all I can say.

I’d really like to get a puppy.  But I know that really isn’t an option right now.  Until then, I’ll live vicariously through other people who have little ones of the four-legged variety.

I have some really wonderful people in my life.  They make the mundane, miserable moments tolerable – even comical – and the joyous, exciting moments better.  It definitely takes a special person to make someone laugh uncontrollably just by saying “thank you” via video.  And I have those kind of people in my life.  Lucky, lucky me.

One of those wonderful people gave me Rosalind’s chocolate covered strawberries this week.  My life was changed last year upon my first taste of these.  Thankfully, my valentine supplied them again!  Incredible.  I’ve been savoring one each night after dinner.

I have a strange addiction to raw almonds.  I eat a handful every day.  Sometimes a handful and a half if I’m feeling really crazy. 

…this list might make my life seem a bit lackluster.  If that is the case, so be it.  I have much to be grateful for, even if it’s not glamorous or envied by others.  Life is good – and writing this reminds me of that.  And you will note that the items on the list all connect to the subsequent point.  I’m a bit of a nerd.  And I embrace it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

