headphones.

Oofta.  What a week.  I don’t even know where to begin.  It was a week full of unanticipated twists and unwelcome alterations, but it ended with hope.  I’m amazed how that continues to happen – and greatly encouraged.

The highlights (or lowlights, depending on your perspective):  I’m have a new boss – for the fourth time in the past year.  Tumultuous times have seemed to characterize my tenure at Geneva.  The stress/anxiety associated with this transition has taken a toll on me for the past week, and I know it will continue.  The joys of insomnia have returned.  I also received word that Ben will be away at OCS for an additional 3 weeks.  This is not atypical, but not necessarily desirable.  After the initial sadness passed, I reminded myself that this experience has been nothing like what we’ve planned for or had been told.  Why break the cycle now?  Flexibility is a part of the military lifestyle – Ben and I have learned that well!  On the positive side, I clocked 9 miles yesterday – training for the half-marathon is progressing!  The running has been a companion of sorts for me while Ben is away.  I’m thankful I’ve gotten to the point where it is enjoyable, not dreadful.  Race day is less than two weeks away and I’m feeling encouraged with my progress.  I was having serious doubts a couple of weeks ago, but thankfully the work is paying off. 

Ben and I were able to talk for a bit on Saturday.  It was the first time since he left that I felt like we had a somewhat- normal conversation.  Sure, we covered the usual “house-keeping” type issues, but we were able to get beyond the brief, bullet-point type conversation.  Given the time constraints on his phone calls, we weren’t able to speak at continuous great length, but thankfully Ben was able to call a couple of times during the course of the evening, so we’d pick up where we left off.  It was an encouragement to me – and a welcome blessing after a difficult week.  He is so very dear to me.

As I prepare for this week, I’m thankful that I have a few notable events to look forward to.  I’ll be traveling to Massachusetts this weekend for a baby shower for my sister-in-law in celebration of my nephew-to-be!  Time spent with my brother and sister-in-law is a joy to me – I am SO thankful for the support that Dave and Melissa have graciously given to Ben and I – it’s just incredible.  Throughout the past few months, they’ve housed us, celebrated with us, and provided chauffeur service, a  listening ear, loving insight, kleenex and lots of hugs.  I’ll have some quality time with my parents, who I will be traveling with – and they have agreed to let me visit my dearest Benjamin on Sunday morning for a couple of hours while we’re in the neighborhood (Newport is about an hour from where Dave & Melissa live).  Final details for this still need to be worked out, but the thought of seeing him is so very, very wonderful.  I’m trying not to get my hopes up in case we can’t make it happen…but trust me, I get a little giddy when I think about it.

Here’s to a new week.  May it be better than the last…

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “headphones.

  1. Dan

    Nice job on the running.

Leave a Reply

