the good life.

…the hope is we have so much to feel good about.

oh, this has gotta be the good life, this has gotta be the good life,

this could really be a good, good life.

With all that has transpired the past few weeks/months, I have been thinking about what constitutes a good life.  Life has been crazy, exhausting, and stressful at times, but overall, it has been good.  I’m amazed that despite the chaos, I am more often overwhelmed by a sense of hope and blessing than despair and defeat.  I love that.  And I’m so thankful for that.

Last week, Peter (Ben’s dad) had another surgery – they installed an artificial heart pump (in hopes to sustain him until he can receive a transplant).  With a team of nearly 20 doctors in the room, Peter underwent a procedure that nearly claimed his life.  Thankfully, Peter survived.  He will remain in the hospital for a few weeks, but as of now, it sounds like things are as good as can be expected.  He still has a long way to go.  But he’s a fighter.

In addition to the family matters, Ben had a demanding week at OCS.  He took 3 mid-terms – and passed them all!  I am so very glad that Ben was able to be focused and diligent in his studies.  Time after time, Ben’s strength and resilience amazes me.

My conversations with Ben have been infrequent and relatively short.  I’m thankful for the times we are able to connect, but trust me – I’ll be glad when both the frequency and duration increase.  It’s become customary for the phone to ring at 7:30 in the morning on Sunday.  I answer, sounding like I just woke up (because I did), and Ben asks if I want to go back to sleep.  My response, of course, is “no!”, because this will probably be the only conversation we have all week.  I always feel a little guilty that I’m still sleeping at that time and he’s been up for hours…but then again, it’s only 7:30.  Even though it’s a tad earlier than I would like, I can’t think of a better way to start my day.

Witnessing and living through these experiences with Peter and Ben has impacted me in a profound way.  In my conversations with Ben, we seem to always hint at the fact that this time has reinforced what is truly important to us.  We are both thankful for and committed to sustaining the relationships in our lives that endure.  I have been amazed at the frailty of the human body, but also at its ability to heal, grow and strengthen.  These Hoadley men have impressed me as they battle through the challenges that face them.  Each selflessly care more about how others are affected than themselves.  I’m blessed to have them in my life.

And the truth is, despite the hardships, I do have a lot to feel good about.  I have my health, I have a home, and I am loved.  It’s a good life.  And I have great hope and excitement for what is to come.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “the good life.

  1. Brother

    Brother loves you a lot! Kinda wishes he was there to give you a noogie and take you out for milkshakes. Maybe next month 🙂

Leave a Reply

