practicing my salute.

I could not be more proud of Benjamin.  We’re three weeks away from his graduation – woohoo!  His class has reached the “Candio” stage.  In Ben’s words, this means he’s “a human again”.  The goodness of coffee, a fork and knife, desserts and increased communication have been reintroduced to his life.  It might not sound like much…but trust me, it is.  Today was the first day Ben was allowed to receive packages in the mail.  He had given me a very specific list with what he’d like.  I learned early on in our relationship that the way to Ben’s heart is through his stomach (like many other men…).  Top on the list?  Homemade cookies.  I sent him 8 dozen.  He told me today that within a few hours of opening the package, the cookies were already gone.  He shared, of course.  And I thought 8 dozen would be too many.  Guess I know what I need to do tonight…bake more cookies!

I’ve been able to communicate with him a bit more during the past two days.  He passed all of his finals – another woohoo!  The academic part of OCS is pretty much done.  He and his classmates will be transitioning into the leaders on base during these last few weeks.

Throughout the day, I’ve been overwhelmed with pride and admiration for Ben.  In light of all that has happened during these past few months, he has never relented.  He has persevered.  He has endured difficulty.  He has remained focused and diligent in his efforts at OCS while also tending to the matters at home.  I know I’m biased, but I really wonder how many people could do what he has done.  I am amazed at Ben’s strength.  I am so very proud of him.  And in 3 weeks, I will get to see him.  I am brimming with excitement at the thought of occupying the same space as him.  Almost there…

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “practicing my salute.

  1. Linda

    Double WOO HOO!!!! How very exciting!!!

Leave a Reply

