…forever yours, faithfully.

Where to even start.  Well, I guess it’s easy, really.  Ben and I are ENGAGED.  I’m still basking in the glow of my new-found predicament.  Benjamin and I are so very happy and looking forward to our life together.

So here’s how it happened.  I spent the day Friday helping Ben prepare and pack for his trek to Pensacola (he left Sunday morning).  During the afternoon, we each had separate “to do lists” and we planned to meet back at my apartment and then head out for dinner.  Things took a bit longer than expected, but we decided to stick with our original plan.  We went to the North Country Brewing Co. (my favorite place in good ol’ Slippery Rock).  As fate would have it, we ran in to my old co-worker Ben and his wife – SO great!  It was wonderful to see them.  We chatted for a bit as we waited for our table.  Dinner was lovely, as always.  Afterwards, we made our way to sweet little Grove City College – it was a perfect evening for a twilight stroll, so that’s what we did.

(For those that are up on Ben & Kristen trivia, you may recall that this date mimics the structure of the date when Ben first declared his love for me.) : )

We walked around lower campus, over Rainbow Bridge and through the woods.  Ben led me to the Chapel garden, to the very same bench where he had told me he loved me.  We sat and watched as fireflies danced around us.  It was a beautiful, clear summer night.  Ben started talking about the many challenges that we have overcome in our time together, of how wonderful he thinks I am, and of his hopes for the future and his confidence in our relationship.  I could feel it coming…  Ben got down on his knee – and I burst into (happy) tears.  We cried, laughed, hugged, kissed and were so very happy in that moment.  He didn’t hear my response at first – after about a minute, he leaned in and whispered, “did  you actually say yes?”.  I did.

The night was perfect.  Simple, private, and perfect.  We took a few minutes to savor this milestone before we made phone calls to our families.  Everyone was excited and had been expecting to hear the news.

Sadly, I had to give up my ring the next day so it could be adjusted to fit my finger.  The ring is gorgeous.  Ben picked it out on his own – and did a fantastic job.  I love it.  Everyone wants to hear the story and see the ring – but you’ll all have to wait along with me for the latter part.

No formal plans are made, as we will be waiting for Ben to receive his orders, which should happen within the next few weeks.   We look forward to this next step.  I am so very thankful to have found him.  He has made my life so very beautiful.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “…forever yours, faithfully.

  1. Yay and yay! This is the best.
    Congrats again from EB & me!

  2. Joanie

    Congratulations, Kristen and Ben! Wonderful news, and beautifully told! May God bless you as you prepare for marriage and as you walk through it together!

Leave a Reply

