overwhelmed.

As the end of August nears, my days left in Pennsylvania are dwindling.  Between now and then, I will be packing my life into boxes, preparing to marry my dear Benjamin, finishing up my work, looking for a new job, and charting my road trip to Pensacola.  These are all good things, things to be excited about.  I can’t help but feel overwhelmed at times with what all I need to accomplish in this short time and the changes that are ahead.  I have made significant progress with the practical details of moving, but adjusting to the idea of taking residence across the country and leaving life-as-I-know-it behind is taking me a bit more time.

I spent most of the day yesterday with my dear friends/co-workers/adopted family, Linda and Connie.  Among the many ways that they have shown me love and support, these two women are throwing me a bridal shower at the end of the month.  Their kindness and generosity has overwhelmed me.  As we talked about linens, floral arrangements, gift ideas and many other details, I couldn’t help but be taken back by their outpouring of love.  They are sending me off with a beautiful party – I’m excited to spend time with my family, friends and co-workers to celebrate this momentous occasion.

It has been difficult for me to accept this grand gesture.  It feels like too much.  But I know that they would not have undertaken the task if they were not sincere.  They have blessed me so much with their friendship and unconditional support – and they continue to bless me in a myriad of ways.  I am grateful.  So very grateful.

I am excited for the shower – to have dear family and friends that represent different stages of my life all in the same room.  Some of them have yet to meet Ben – and I wish so very much that he could be there.  I’ll be with him in less than three weeks – my heart can hardly wait.

I’m feeling loved.  And blessed.  And that’s a good place to be.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

