life as we know it.

A place where there isn’t any trouble.  Do you suppose there is such a place, Toto?  There must be.  It’s not a place you can get to by a boat or a train.  It’s far, far away.  Behind the moon, beyond the rain…  ~The Wizard of Oz

I can’t help but smile to myself as I watch the evening news and listen to the local newscasters as they warn about the “dangerously low” temperatures we will experience here this weekend.  There are several places throughout Pensacola that are designated “shelters” from the cold.  Here’s the best part…the highs are in the low 60s, lows near 40.  What would be a fantastic November day in Pennsylvania is a near state of emergency in Florida.  Yet another sign that I am far from home.

I’ve survived my first two months in Florida.  I’m glad to be here with Ben, now also known as the husband.  Weird.  I’m still adjusting to that – and the fact that “Mrs. Hoadley” is me.  Again, weird.  Newlywed, new home, new town, new life.  What’s the fun of just one major life change at a time, right?

Transition has been my word of the day, week, month and year.  I find it interesting that the Latin roots of the word “transition” mean “to go or cross over”.  That evokes a sense of moving forward.  When you go through a transition, change happens.  You don’t return to “the way it was before”.  And I get frustrated with myself lately for longing for the impossible to happen – for things to be the way they were before.  Well, nostalgia has its place.  But so does perseverance.  And that’s where I need to be focusing my energy – on loving and living life, embracing the goodness, and being thankful for the many ways I have been truly blessed.  On moving forward.  Even when my old life seems appealing, comfortable.

Comfort is overrated.  It’s been said many times, many ways – the measure of a man is in how he overcomes adversity.  So get in the ring.  Be ready for some bruises.  And hold on to the people you love.  Love always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “life as we know it.

  1. Be careful in that dangerous cold!

    It’ll probably take awhile to get used to being “Mrs. Hoadley.” I felt like an impostor introducing myself with my married name. 🙂

Leave a Reply

