we all want something beautiful.

I am a lover of traditions.  And, of course, this time of year is basically synonymous with tradition.  But this year, as Christmas draws near, I’m not filled with joy and hope as I usually am.  Instead those sentiments have been countered by surges of loneliness and sadness.  Alas, the year of change continues, whether I’m ready or not.

This will be the first year I will not be at home for Christmas.  I’m missing all those things that always made Christmas so sweet: time with my dear family and friends, Daddy’s pancakes on Christmas morning, a backyard game of football, the list goes on.  I miss the beauty and serenity of taking a walk through some freshly fallen snow.  I miss being cold (really, I do.).

I am thankful that Ben and I will be able to spend our first Christmas together.  I’ve reminded myself that there will probably be many years in the future when that is not even an option.  Up until now, we’ve never spent Christmas together – so this in itself is a gift.

As a friend has told me, it’s time for new traditions.  I embrace that idea, and I look forward to figuring out what exactly those traditions will be.  Given all the change that has happened this year, I think I was just hoping to still have some semblance of the life I lived before, something to hold on to.

Thankfully, Christmas isn’t only about tradition.  These words from Luke 2 have resonated with me: An angel of the Lord appeared to them…and they were terrified.  But the angel said to them, “Do not be afraid.  I bring you good news that will cause great joy for all the people.” If I have to read this every day for the next year to remind myself of this good news, I will.

Here’s to a new year, and new traditions.  Merry Christmas, ya’ll.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “we all want something beautiful.

  1. Hey Friend,
    Thanks for sharing this… I can relate to missing the cold and traditions and family and friends. Know that people still miss you and are thinking and praying for you. Hope you’ve enjoyed the holidays and I will see you sooner than later gater!

Leave a Reply

