surrender.

For the first six months, Pensacola and I did not have a good relationship.  It took me away from a place that felt like home and people who brought such joy and love to my life.  Comfort, familiarity, and a sense of community became memories.  And I hated Pensacola for that.  I didn’t always realize it, but I was fighting the transition, resisting acceptance of my circumstances.

Within the last few weeks, I’ve come to see how much harder I have made the transition for myself.  The struggle has not ceased, but I believe I’m rising above this valley.

I’m learning again and again to embrace where I am, to accept that the extent of my control is limited, and that nostalgia can do more harm than good.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “surrender.

  1. Linda

    As I sit at my desk and look out on the white blanket of snow (2 inches) I can only imagine how sunny it must be in Florida. The grass always looks greener on the other side.

Leave a Reply

