table for two.

This is my invariable advice to people: learn to cook – try new recipes, learn from your mistakes, be fearless, and above all, have fun!  ~ Julia Child

While the idea of working through The Art of French Cooking in a year seems adventurous, it is equally (if not more s0) daunting.  Stuck in a food rut, Ben and I decided to take what we considered to be a more realistic approach: try at least one new recipe a week.  We’ve been doing this for several weeks now – and we’ve found some keepers.

Our favorite meal so far was a trio of Mexican-inspired selections: homemade salsa (our new addiction), chicken empanadas, and a fantastic black bean salad.  This salad was so fresh, so colorful, and simply delicious!  I made a few modifications, as I do with most recipes – they’re just a framework, right?

Tonight’s attempt is more a modification on a classic than a truly new meal.  We’ll be having homemade pizza – with pesto, fresh mozzarella and tomato.  I love making homemade pizza…kneading dough is oddly therapeutic.

I’ll try to be a better blogger and share some of our discoveries with ya’ll.  Be sure to pass along any favorites or recommendations you might have – we’re looking for ideas!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “table for two.

  1. haha – your recipe modification sounds more than vaguely familiar!! I have a very hard time sticking to recipes, and I often share on my blog what my successes were (mistakes stay hidden in the trash can). We’ve been enjoying Mexican-inspired foods lately, too!

  2. That recipe sounds awesome! I’m going to have to try it!

Leave a Reply

