where the heart is.

Ben and I returned this week from a whirlwind trip north.  We traveled over 3,000 miles, through ten states and two time zones, reuniting with many dear family and friends.  It was exhilarating and exhausting.  About half-way through our journey, we looked at each other and said we’re never doing this again.  We over-extended ourselves, trying to do too much, forgetting to allot some time for rest and for the two of us.  Lesson learned.

It was a comfort to be reunited with some of my dearest ones, those that know me best.  There is something so incredibly wonderful about time spent with friends of the heart, kindred spirits.  I’m so thankful for you all – you make this life so much richer.

And I saw, touched and tasted SNOW.  It was rejuvenating.  Probably more than it should have been.  But I absolutely loved it.

And, of course, this trip included some quality time with my ever-adorable nephew, Joshua.  This child amazes me – his joy is contagious and his curiosity inspiring.  This trip marked Uncle Ben’s first meeting with Joshua – and they were fast friends.  I sense some mischief in the years to come…

uncle ben & j-man.

After time in New York and Pittsburgh, we hopped a plane to Baltimore to see some of Ben’s family.  Our 48 hours in Baltimore included a tour of the U.S. Naval Academy – or as Ben referred to it, “the Motherland”.  A few of our friends have come through the Academy, and it was interesting to understand the world they came from a bit better.  Ben and I are now filled with all sorts of trivia and facts about the Academy – we’d be glad to dazzle you with our knowledge over dinner.

And here we are, back in Pensacola.  We’ve settled back in to our schedules and routines here quickly.  Christmas feels like months ago.  And I’m struggling to remember to write “2012” on things.

What a year this will be.  I have no idea what to expect about our circumstances, our location…anything, really.  I’m just thankful to be living life alongside someone who I admire more than anything.  That’s all that really matters, right?

Cheers, friends.  Happy 2012.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “where the heart is.

  1. Dan and I have totally done that before — overextended ourselves over a holiday trying to see everyone. It’s hard when you live far away, though, to find a good balance. But there is always next year to try!

    It was wonderful to see you! Makes me hope I’ll see you before another 1+ goes by.

  2. Your writing always inspires me as you honestly share your thoughts, experiences, and joys. I miss you dear friend & wish I had been in the area to visit with you over a cup of coffee or glass of wine. Praying that 2012 is a year filled with an abundance of blessings. With much love.

Leave a Reply

