rock you like a hurricane.

I’ve gathered up plenty of water bottles, Clif bars, and flashlights to help us survive Isaac (okay, okay…and some caramel corn, too.).  As I wandered around Target, I saw people pushing carts overflowing with random items, grabbing everything in sight to be “prepared” (one thought – what will microwave dinners do for you when the power goes out?  …because I saw a person literally empty the shelves of Lean Cuisine into their cart.  Oi.).  Maybe it’s ignorance because I’m an amateur, but I think we’ll be good with our current stash, especially since we’re trying to empty our cupboards anyway with our upcoming move.  Bring it on, Isaac.  We’re ready for you.

And I’m ready for Ben to come home.  He’s been gone since Wednesday, off to Pittsburgh to see his college buddies for their fantasy football draft.  I’m so glad he was able to make the trip – because of his training, it’s been a few years since he’s been able to partake in the festivities.  Ben is scheduled to return tomorrow…ahead of Isaac’s arrival, so I’m hopeful that he will be returned to me because I don’t want to face this storm alone.

We still have no orders, no move date, no concrete details…which is frustrating for the organized and planning person that I tend to be.  We’ve been told he’ll be starting class at the beginning of October and be leaving for the two-week SERE school (think extreme Boy Scout-wilderness survival-POW simulation) in mid-September, so with each day that passes, we have less time to pack, move, find a home and get settled in our new town.  I know it will all work out, but we’re both tired of the waiting game.  We’re ready to make this happen.  

It’s been so good to see Ben happy and enjoying his job, his place in life.  We’re entering one of those moments where we’re at the mercy of the Navy, and even thought I don’t wear the uniform, they have a hold on me.  I’ve come to be comfortable with the powerlessness in certain decisions, almost relieved that they are made for us.  I can’t say that I would have ever chosen to move to Oklahoma City (my heart was set on Washington state…oh well.), but I am hopeful that this next spot will hold great things for both of us, individually and as a unit.  I am full aware that some of the struggles I had here will follow me to Oklahoma, but thankfully I’ve learned a lot from these two years in Pensacola.  It hasn’t been easy, but I know I’m better for it.

Time for this girl to continue the house and job hunt.  Anyone have any leads in Oklahoma City? 🙂 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

