boomer sooner.

My days as a desperate housewife are dwindling.  Life is about to change here at the Hoadley house – for all of us.  I will (gladly!) be readjusting to the 8-to-5 life, the university life, the writer life.  Ben is thankful I’ve found a job I will enjoy, but he will miss having me available to tend to all of the household needs – especially the cooking and (his least favorite) grocery shopping.  Charlie and I will both suffer with some separation anxiety – we’ve become quite fond of our days together.  But we’ll all adapt.  It will take some time to find our new normal.

The days since I’ve accepted the job at OU have provided a welcome sense of calm.  Since we’ve moved, I had been nagged by the thought that every waking moment should be spent searching and applying for jobs.  It’s such an exhausting, all-consuming process.  Thankfully, throughout the past few weeks, I’ve been able to really enjoy my days and not feel guilty about it.  It’s been glorious.  Charlie and I have taken lots of adventures to local parks and the dog park.  Ben and I were able to travel to Massachusetts to see my family for Christmas, which was wonderful.

It is such a relief to be heading back to work, to use my education and my experiences for something worthwhile.  I am so grateful for the opportunity to be challenged by this new experience, as this private liberal arts school girl heads off to a major public research university.  I’m hopeful that this job will bring a sense of fulfillment and purpose – and hopefully some new friends, too.

Life here in Oklahoma is off to a decent start.  I’m encouraged.  I’ll make the most of these last two days of blissful freedom…

Happy New Year, friends!  Wishing you all a happy and healthy 2013.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

