the (almost) snow day.

People here freak out at the mention of snow.  Or ice.  I’m talking stock-up-on-groceries-and-movies-and-bottled-water-and-hibernate-for-three-days freak out.  It’s borderline ridiculous.  We had a lovely little storm last night…some snow, sleet, and rain, with some thunder and lightning for good measure.  In New York or Pennsylvania, this is what we’d call fair game pretty much any day from October through April (that’s 6 months, people).  All of the area schools are closed – OU had a two-hour delay.  That was the right call – the roads were fine by 9 a.m.  I had already started my morning routine by the time I got the call, so I didn’t crawl back in bed, although it was tempting.  Instead, a very sweet puppy insisted on sitting in my lap and we watched old episodes of Boy Meets World together.  I made a nice breakfast and enjoyed the quiet time.  I would have loved a full snow day, but I’ll gladly take a shorter work day.

I’ve completed my four weeks of boot camp.  And I feel great.  It’s been encouraging to see that I am capable of more than I expected.  The experience was definitely a physical and mental challenge; it has helped me regain some confidence and rejuvenate my endurance and strength.  I overcame my aversion to a 5:00 a.m. wake-up call, personal fears and insecurities, and my sometimes-hindering shyness.  I hope to keep the momentum going and continue to push my limits.

On Tuesday, my adorable new nephews were born – welcome to the world, Drew and Liam!  I’m in love already…and I’ve only seen two pictures.  I can’t wait to snuggle with you two.  They look at a lot like Josh to me…which means they’re destined to be little cuties.  Congratulations to Dave, Melissa, and big brother Joshua.  The Ortendahl name lives on.

image

meet Drew and Liam. born February 19, 2013.

420336_10100283065277034_593677826_n

can you guess who is who?

With moments like this, I’m torn between where I am and where I want to be.  I wish my family and friends weren’t so far away.  It’s hard to miss out on the everyday activities and the special moments.  I’m so grateful for things like Skype and iPhones, because, at least for a moment, they don’t feel so far away.  I know I’m where I’m supposed to be, and I wouldn’t trade it for anything.  I just want to hug my nephews.  And I think it’s okay to want that.

….in case you’re wondering about the second photo, Liam in on the left, Drew is on the right.  Snoozin’ sweethearts.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

