…and the hits just keep on coming.

“This isn’t how I hoped to spend my Friday night,” said Ben, as we watched storms and tornadoes developing all around our town.  With the black clouds drawing nearer and the roar becoming louder, I put on some running shoes and grabbed a sweatshirt and a bottle of water, just like the good meteorologists advise, in case we found ourselves surrounded by damage.  A few minutes later, the power went out.  Thankfully, our house weathered the storm, and so did we.  Our laundry room (the innermost room with no windows) provided shelter to us and our two nervous pups.  We listened to our newly-acquired weather radio, which provided us with information about what was going on outside our walls.

The storm lasted for hours, with damaging winds, hail, and torrential rain.  It was the last thing Moore, Oklahoma needed.  But it hasn’t put too much of a damper on the recovery efforts.  Our power returned around 9:00 on Saturday night – just in time for Ben to catch the end of the Pacers – Heat game.  This was not a relaxing weekend.  But again, we were simply grateful to be protected.

Since we had no power and our grill was damaged in the most recent storm, we decided to go out to dinner with our neighbors on Saturday night.  I was grateful to talk someone who understood my internal struggle of the past two weeks – like I’ve said, I’m torn between a sense of gratitude and one of guilt.  It’s an odd form of tornado-induced PTSD.  With the ongoing threat of storms last week and again this week, I’ve been so anxious and nervous.  It doesn’t help that I drive by the destruction every day, reminding me of just how close I came to losing everything.

I’m grateful for the outpouring of love and support that Ben and I have received – we appreciate your calls and messages inquiring about our safety and wishing us well.

I never thought I’d say this, but bring on the summer heat.  At least then Oklahoma will get a break from all of this severe weather.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “…and the hits just keep on coming.

  1. Linda Van Keuren

    Am glad you guys are ok Kristen –I think of you every time I see that bad weather in Ok.

Leave a Reply

