potpourri.

I’m convinced that being a puppy owner is one of the greatest things you can do in your life.  Seriously.  Little Nimitz is a constant source of joy and kisses.  Last week, we heeded the advice of our old friend Bob Barker, and Nimitz joined the ranks of many male pups who’ve lost their manhood.  And he had a pesky dew claw removed, too.  Translation: Bring out the cone of shame.

Nimitz.

Nimitz.

I’ve never laughed so hard in my life.  He was running into walls and furniture as he vigorously attempted to shake the cone off of his neck.  The vet advised we keep the cone on for four days.  We left it on for an hour.  He’s been doing just fine – his incision points are healing nicely and the little guy has been as active and playful as ever.  We have our final training session tonight for his puppy training at PetSmart – complete with a mortarboard and plenty of pomp and circumstance.  It might be ridiculous, but I love it anyways.

Ben and I went on an adventure this weekend to the town of Stratford, Oklahoma.  This sleepy, rural town of 1,400 claims to be the Peach Capital of Oklahoma, and every July, they host a Peach Festival.  These peaches were worth the drive – so juicy with the perfect amount of sweetness.  And they were huge – most weighed over 8 ounces each!  I spent most of Sunday enjoying our tasty little souvenirs – I made a peach crisp and the most amazing ice cream ever.

pretty little peaches.

pretty little peaches.

This morning’s 10:00 a.m.  snack was the last of our peach stash.  I’m tempted to drive back down to Stratford just so I can fill my freezer with quarts of that ice cream.

Lastly, I leave you with a book recommendation.  All of you.  I haven’t finished this book yet, but I already want to re-read it.  It’s changing my life – and in the best way.  The words on these pages are helping me understand how to better comprehend – and in some cases, overcome – the challenges that my inherently introverted disposition can create.

quiet

Introverts and extroverts alike would benefit from reading Susan Cain’s Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking I’ll refrain from giving a book report here, but I will say that I highly recommend this book and would be happy to talk about it with you over a glass of iced tea.  There’s more to come on this…stay tuned.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

