in control.

Friends.  Oh, my dear friends.  It’s a glorious day.  It’s the last day of work before a 10-day span of rest, relaxation, and long-awaited reunions.  This respite is coming at a good time…a perfectly good time.

One thing I’ve been reminded of a lot lately is my lack of control in this world.  For the past few months, my mantra has become control what you can control.  It might sound silly, but whenever I feel myself getting caught up in the uncertainty and stress of life, I repeat it silently to myself.  If I can’t change it, I take a deep breath and let it go. 

I’ve noticed that when I find myself in the midst of moments when I feel powerless, I am overcome with an urge to do something that I can control.  My outlets have become cleaning and organizing (when you can’t change your circumstances, organize your linen closet!) and exercise (when you’re stressed, do some burpees!).  The distraction helps, and the sense of accomplishment afterwards helps me to know that there are things within my control.  When all else fails, I hug my puppy.  Seriously, the greatest stress relief and therapy ever.  Just look at that sweet face.

nimitz11

“the best therapy has fur and four legs.”
…otherwise known as Nimitz.

I’m not going to pretend that I have it all together.  And I’m not going to say that I have everything figured out.  But I do know that the simple act of accepting my limitations has been liberating.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

