birthday eve.

It’s that time of year again – time for pre-birthday reflection on the past year and contemplation of what the new year will hold.

Year 27.  I spent it in a place I never thought I’d visit, let alone live.  I’ve had the opportunity to get to know new people and a new community.  I’ve witnessed the power of people coming together to overcome unthinkable challenges with great strength, resilience, and compassion.  I’m constantly reminded how incredibly blessed and lucky I am to share life with my best friend.  I’ve learned that good friends are hard to find – and their rarity is part of what makes them so special.  I fell in love with my first canine friend (…but we’re not going to talk about that, because my beloved Charlie will be leaving us next week.).  And perhaps the best lesson of all: I have a better understanding of myself – how my past has shaped me, how my predisposed self is both a blessing and a challenge, and that it’s okay to not be completely put together all the time.

Year 28.  I have no idea what to expect.  And let’s be honest…these last few years have been quite unpredictable, so I’ll just take each day as it comes and do the best I can.  That’s all any of us can expect from ourselves.  My hope is that I will continue to learn how to be a better wife, a better friend.  I’d like to climb a mountain – perhaps we can cross Colorado off my “places I’ve never been and am dying to see” list and throw in a hike or two.  I hope that I will find something that brings me joy and challenge – returning to dance classes or learning a new skill (graphic design!), perhaps.  I’d like to read more.  I’ll continue my self-actualization quest of learning to understand and embrace who I am and what I hope to be.  And I’d like to overcome my odd fear of baking pies.

So long, 27.  It’s been good, but it’s time for you to go.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

