coffee & caramels.

Something monumental has happened, friends.  Something so unexpected, so un-Kristen-like.  I don’t quite know who I am anymore.

You ready for it?

I drank coffee…and I liked it.

That’s right.  After 28 years of a coffee-free living style, I’ve succumbed to the welcoming comfort of a hot cup of coffee.  So now when I meet friends for coffee, I won’t always have to order tea or a chai latte and get that slightly condescending look from a barista for not ordering coffee at a coffeeshop.

(Meeting for coffee always reminds me of this line from my favorite movie, Good Will Hunting.)

S: Maybe we could go out for coffee sometime…

W: Great, or maybe we could go somewhere and just eat a bunch of caramels.

As a coffee newbie, I’ll have plenty to learn about as I experiment with different blends and preparation methods.  What are your favorites?  Teach me!

In other news, my puppy remains ridiculously adorable.  Nim’s latest habit is sleeping in my closet while I get ready for work.  It used to be that he’d sit and watch me do my hair and make-up, but for the past two weeks, he’s chosen to curl up under some skirts and snooze.  What a life.

photo

Nimitz’s version of “Where’s Waldo?”

We’ve reached November, which means my experimental period of gluten-free living is complete.  The results: it helped.  A lot.  Which is great…and awful at the same time.  I’m thankful that I have more energy and feel better.  But friends, I am so sad about giving up things like homemade bread, pizza, and big bowls of pasta.  Ugh.  It’s going to take some time to adjust my grocery shopping habits, meal planning, and eating socially without becoming the annoying person with a gluten intolerance.  I know, I know…just accept it and get over it.  But for now, my gratitude is mixed in with a little bit of sadness.  I’m trying not to look at it as something being wrong with me.  In turn, I’m trying to view it as my attempt to take better care of my body.  I’ll get used to being the girl in the room who politely turns down a slice of birthday cake (…while everyone else enjoys their beautiful slice of chocolate cake from La Baguette. Sigh.).  But it’s going to be hard for awhile.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “coffee & caramels.

  1. First of all, I’m thrilled you have come over to the dark side of coffee lovin.’ I didn’t care for it at all either until sometime during college when my roommate (who is from Washington state and very serious about her coffee) introduced me to what I’ve been missing. I’ve never looked back since. I just heard that Starbucks has their holiday drinks in and I highly recommend the caramel brulee latte. You won’t regret it.
    Secondly, I’m super sorry and bummed for you about the gluten intolerance. The good news is that there are so many great gluten alternatives out there now, and feeling better should outweigh missing it…eventually, hopefully?

    • Mmm…that sounds delicious. I think I brought coffee into my life at the perfect time of year! I love all things fall & winter.

      I’m glad I’m gluten-free now when there are so many options. I’ve dabbled in g-free pasta, bread dough, pizza dough, etc. It’s not quite the same, but it’s better than nothing, for sure. I’ve read that my taste buds will adapt – eventually gluten-filled things won’t taste good to me any more. I will admit, I’ve faltered a few times and eaten things with gluten – and I always pay for it. Lesson learned. Time to embrace what life has brought my way…

  2. Jane Hoadley

    So you are a new coffee drinker too!! I’m still a wimp–I can only handle lattes. My very first cup of coffee was in St Petersburg at the Russian version of Starbucks. I have a photo to prove it!!!! Love Jane Date: Fri, 1 Nov 2013 15:13:30 +0000 To: hoadleyjl@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

