anticipation.

It’s a season of anticipation and expectation.  It’s a season of joy, of hope, of togetherness.  It’s the season that reminds us that many of the most meaningful things in life are profoundly simple and can’t be found in the pretty displays of a store.  We search endlessly for the perfect gift, we stay up too late baking cookies, we painstakingly stage the perfect pose for our annual Christmas card.

We’re all waiting for something – whether it be a reunion with family and friends, a few days off of work, the receipt or delivery of a perfect gift, or special traditions that only take place this time of year, like Grandma’s Swedish meatballs on Christmas Eve.  I’m drawn to this undercurrent of anticipation and tradition, the excitement it brings and the memories it creates.

We won’t be traveling for Christmas this year.  It’s not the first Christmas I’ve been away from home (the NY/PA version of home), and I’m sure it won’t be the last.  These are the moments it is hardest for me to be away from the people and places I love.  I wish I could gather up everyone I love and put them in the same place for Christmas.  Instead of shiny new things to add to my shelves, what I really want for Christmas is time with my family and friends.

This season has been devoid of the stress and chaos that so often consume the month of December.  This year doesn’t have the same sense of anticipation and expectation, but it does have the hope that the promise of a new year brings.  I don’t know about you, but I’m ready to but 2013 in the books.

photo

Nimitz wishes you a Merry Christmas!
…he’s the best dog.

“…the angel said to them, ‘Do not be afraid.
I bring you good news that will cause great joy for all people.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “anticipation.

  1. I like that, “the most meaningful things in life are profoundly simple and can’t be found in the pretty displays of a store.” I’m definitely learning that one more every year as I catch myself frantically flying around, trying to force that “Christmasy” feeling with decorations, hot chocolate and movies, but my favorite moments are always the ones spent with my favorite people. Praying you, Ben, his mom and Nimitz have a wonderful and memorable Christmas this year.

Leave a Reply

