favorite things.

January_favorite_things

These might not be doorbells and sleigh bells or schnitzel with noodles, but they are a few of my favorite things.  Let’s go.

1. Clinique Moisture Surge Extended Thirst Relief

Since leaving the sunny skies and humid air of Florida, my skin has been dry…the painful tightness kind of dry.  Not pleasant.  The magical gel in this little jar has saved my skin from the harsh winds and dry air of Oklahoma – I adore it.  I put some on my face both at night and in the mornings, I use it on my hands – any exposed skin that needs a little extra oomph than what my usual lotion provides.  A little of this stuff goes a looooooong way.  I discovered it thanks to one of the many Clinique bonus gifts I’ve gotten – and honestly, I have yet to actually purchase a jar, because I have received a bunch of sample sizes with other purchases.  If the winter air is wreaking havoc on your skin, this will be your new best friend.

2. Modern Family Desk Calendar

Let’s face it – 30 minutes a week just isn’t enough of this crew.  These little square sheets of paper brighten my day.  Especially the Cam quotes.  “I’m sort of like Costco.  I’m big, I’m not fancy, and I dare you not to like me.”

3. Darling Magazine

Dreamer.  Hostess.  Confidant.  Stylist.  Explorer.  Beautician. Intellectual.  Achiever.  The Art of Being a Woman.
This magazine is more like a book.  It isn’t filled with glossy advertisements and surface-level content.  It’s a thoughtfully crafted compilation of essays, poems, and photographs about things that bear significance.  I stumbled across one of their articles online (“Practicing Hospitality While We’re Young”), which really resonated with me and my whole invite-people-in-even-though-my-house/life-isn’t-perfect bit.  And now I’m hooked.

4. Mane Message Bobby Pins

The go-to hairstyle of my college days is back – pull back one side with a bobby pin.  I was getting tired of my plain, boring old bobby pins.  Then I found these.  We’re a perfect match.  I bought the “coffee date” package – they’re even prettier in person than they are on-screen.  The solid color enamel pin is shiny and beautiful.  The glitter pins are amazing – not a fleck of glitter will end up in your hair or on your hands – it’s on the pin to stay.  These things are durable and made to last.  I want one in every color.

5. MyFitnessPal App

This is a great app (don’t worry, non-smartphone/tablet users, you can use it online, too!) that allows you to keep track of your food intake and exercise all in one place.  I love the graphs and charts that help you visualize your nutritional consumption – as you enter your meals for the day, you’re able to see what you need more of and what you should stay away from for the rest of the day.  Their database of store-bought items is pretty extensive, and you can enter in your own homemade recipes.  If you have a fitness tracker, you can sync the two – or if you’re old school like me, just enter in your exercise (including time, reps, etc.), and you’re good to go.  You can share your information through your social networks, if you wish – that way people can cheer you on as you work to achieve your goals.  MyFitnessPal is a great way to track your progress toward health and exercise goals and just a really useful tool in monitoring what you’re putting in your body.  It’s simple and easy to use…we could all use more things like that in life, right?

What are you loving this month?  Tell me!

[None of this is sponsored.  I am not affiliated with any of the companies and have not received anything for talking about their products.  It’s just me talking about things I’ve discovered and loved and want to share with you.]

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “favorite things.

  1. Hilary

    Cute bobby pins! And the magazine sounds like a keeper!

Leave a Reply

