favorite things.

March_favorite_things

1.  Daring Greatly: How the Courage to be Vulnerable Transforms the Way We Live, Love, Parent, and Lead by Brené Brown

I haven’t loved a book this much since I read Quiet.  Some seriously amazing stuff on these pages.  Here’s a little tidbit:
Vulnerability is not weakness, and the uncertainty, risk, and emotional exposure we face every day are not optional.  Our only choice is a question of engagement.  Our willingness to own and engage with our vulnerability determines the depth of our courage and the clarity of our purpose; the level to which we protect ourselves from being vulnerable is a measure of our fear and disconnection.  When we spend our lives waiting until we’re perfect or bulletproof before we walk into the arena, we ultimately sacrifice relationships and opportunities that may not be recoverable, we squander our precious time, and we turn our backs on our gifts, those unique contributions that only we can make.
…and that’s the intro to the intro.  Seriously.  I totally want to start a book club just so I can go deeper into this book.  Come sit in my living room and talk with me.  I’ll make you tea and scones.

2.  Cocoa Butter Body Butter

This little tub of deliciousness has rescued my skin from the harsh winter.  It’s a little heftier than your standard lotion, but it goes on easily, soaks in quickly, and hydrates your skin throughout the day without feeling greasy or heavy.  The scent is subtle, making it perfect for daily wear.

3.  Talenti Gelato

In my dream world, I would eat this every day.  These frozen delights are so incredibly delicious.  So far, Ben and I have tried the Sea Salt Caramel and Southern Butter Pecan.  I’ve got my eye on the Toasted Almond, Mediterranean Mint, and Blood Orange sorbet…seriously, I wish my freezer had a never-ending supply of these things.  I first discovered them at Sprouts (a less-wonderful version of Trader Joe’s), but I noticed on my last trip to Target that these were making their way into the freezer cases.

4.  HuluPlus

This might seem silly, but our HuluPlus subscription is one of the best things we’ve ever purchased. We don’t have a fancy cable package with a DVR, but to me, this is just as good (and much cheaper!).  I don’t feel the need to be home on the couch in front of the TV at 8:00 on Wednesday night just so I don’t miss my weekly laugh session (bonus points if you can name that show!).  It’s freed me in a way, which might be a little sad that I used to make an attempt to schedule my evening activities around my favorite TV shows, but hey, I’m just being honest.

5.  West Paw Dog Toy

Since it’s Nim’s birthday month, I’ll throw in one of our favorite things for our furry family member.  One of Nim’s many nicknames is “The Destroyer” – he’s quite the powerful chewer.  We’ve stopped buying him stuffed plush toys and ropes – it’s only a matter of time before they end up shredded to pieces.  This toy (and this one, too!) have been great for Nim.  They’re both great for interactive play, and each has proven that they can withstand Nim’s jaws of steel.

What are you loving this month?  Tell me!

[None of this is sponsored.  I am not affiliated with any of the companies and have not received anything for talking about their products.  It’s just me talking about things I’ve discovered and loved and want to share with you.]

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “favorite things.

  1. Barb

    #4 Survivor?!?

Leave a Reply

