where the skies are so blue.

Last night, I enjoyed a rite of passage as a Hoadley: I saw Lynyrd Skynyrd in concert.  This was Ben’s ninth Lynyrd Skynyrd show.  And yes, he’s really only 30.  His dad took him to his first LS show when he was 17 – Ben’s first rock concert, and his introduction to one of his truest loves.

They played a great show – and it was a beautiful night to be out in Oklahoma City.  Ben’s sister is visiting while on leave from deployment, so it was the perfect way to spend the evening before she heads back to Japan this weekend.

Some observations and lessons learned at my first Lynyrd Skynyrd experience:

1) All of the band members have longer hair than I do. (And yes, all males.)

2) There was a man near us who would raise his walking cane overhead in jubilation when they played a song he liked.  Perfect symbolism of the primary age group that made up the crowd.

3) It confirmed my suspicions that Oklahoma does not identify with “the South”.

4) Any sort of military tribute makes me a little extra sentimental.  They dedicated the song “Simple Man” (my personal favorite LS song, thanks to my college years) to service men and women and their families.  I may or may not have gotten a little teary-eyed.  I’ll blame it on all the smoke.

Boy, don’t you worry – you’ll find yourself.  Follow your heart, and nothing else.  You can do this, if you try. All I want for you, my son, is to be satisfied.

5) Speaking of smoke, it’s been a long time since I’ve been around that much dirty air.  My throat was on fire, eyes irritated, and my nose tried to act as a good filter, based upon what’s been coming out of it this morning.  Yuck.

6) I feel like my life is a little more complete now that I’ve heard “Free Bird” live in concert.  And, oh my, the closing guitar solo was ridiculously amazing.

7) It’s worth walking a little further to get to the clean Port-a-Potties.  Totally worth it.

8) And lastly, there’s nothing better than seeing your loved ones really, truly happy.  My heart is full.

photo-7

free as a bird now.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

