random act of kindness.

On my way home from work tonight, I stopped to pick up Nimitz and Charlie from doggie day care. While I waited for the pups to say goodbye to their friends and be brought out to the lobby, one of the staffers handed me an envelope. She told me that someone overheard me talking with another staffer a few weeks ago – we were chatting about Ben and the Navy and deployment and how much I appreciated this place and the love and care they give my boys and how I couldn’t imagine managing a one-year old weimaraner’s energy without them – and they wanted to thank Ben for his service.

After I wrangled the boys into the car, I opened the envelope before I turned the key. I should have waited until I got home. The contents made me a little teary. Inside was a $200 gift certificate for the doggie day care/boarding place that Charlie and Nim love so much. I suspected it was a gift of some sort, but the magnitude of the generosity of this anonymous angel was overwhelming. I’ve never received such a thoughtful gift from someone that didn’t even know my name. At this place, I’m simply Nimitz and Charlie’s mom. I was stunned – in the most beautiful way.

I’ll probably never know who chose to bless us in this way, but I’ll never forget how their kind gesture made me feel. Whoever you are, wherever you are – thank you. Your kindness means more than you’ll ever know.

“In the end, though, maybe we must all give up trying to pay back the people in this world who sustain our lives. In the end, maybe it’s wiser to surrender before the miraculous scope of human generosity and to just keep saying thank you, forever and sincerely, for as long as we have voices.”  Elizabeth Gilbert

IMG_2845

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “random act of kindness.

  1. Linnea

    such a sweet surprise and blessing!

  2. ahhhh, so amazing that this happened! It couldn’t have happened to a better person, so happy for you!

Leave a Reply

